Press Releases

Press releases are archived according to their release date. For press releases by topic, please see the Issue Positions page.

Washington, DC—Today, Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT), the President Pro Tempore of the US Senate, released the following statement after the Senate passed two respective resolutions to commemorate the 30th anniversary of the Women’s Business Act of 1988 and to recognize November 24, 2018, as “Small Business Saturday.”

“This year marks the 30th anniversary of the passage of the Women’s Business Ownership Act, signed into law by Ronald Reagan. During my time in the Senate, I have worked to remove barriers to small business success, and am proud that Utah has one of the highest rates of growth and economic clout for women-owned businesses. I plan to join these trailblazers and Utah small business owners in celebrating Small Business Saturday.”

Women’s Business Ownership Act Resolution

On October 25, 1988, President Ronald Reagan signed the Women’s Business Ownership Act of 1988 into law, empowering women entrepreneurs to independently pursue access to capital and providing unique federal assistance programs under the Small Business Administration. 

The resolution commemorates the 30th anniversary of the Women’s Business Ownership Act of 1988 and recognizes the invaluable contributions female entrepreneurs make to our nation’s economy. Over 10 million women-owned small businesses in the United States employ more than 8,400,000 people and generate nearly $1,500,000,000,000 in sales annually.

Sponsors of the resolution are US Senators Jim Risch (R-ID), Ben Cardin (D-MD), John Boozman (R-AR), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND), Susan Collins (R-ME), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Steve Daines (R-MT), Ed Markey (D-MA), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Orrin Hatch (R-UT), Chris Coons (D-DE), John Hoeven (R-ND), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), John Kennedy (R-LA), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), and Tim Scott (R-SC).

Click here to read the resolution.

Small Business Saturday Resolution

The bipartisan “Small Business Saturday” resolution recognizes the invaluable contributions small businesses make to our nation’s economy. Small businesses create nearly two out of three new jobs in the United States, and employ nearly 48 percent of private sector employees in the United States. With over 30 million small businesses in the United States, they represent 99.9 percent of all businesses in the United States and constitute 97.6 percent of firms that export goods. The “Small Business Saturday” resolution joins the Small Business Administration in:

  • Supporting the designation of November 24, 2018, as ‘‘Small Business Saturday’’;
  • Celebrating the entrepreneurial spirit of small business owners in the United States;
  • Recognizing the importance of creating policies that promote a business-friendly environment for small business owners that is free of unnecessary and burdensome regulations and red tape;
  • Supporting and encouraging young entrepreneurs to pursue passions and create more startup businesses; and
  • Celebrating the invaluable contribution that small businesses make to the United States as the backbone of the economy.

Other sponsors of the resolution were US Senators Jim Risch (R-ID), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Lamar Alexander (R-TN), Christopher Coons (D-DE), John Barrasso (R-WY), Ed Markey (D-MA), John Boozman (R-AR), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Shelly Moore Capito (R-WV), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Steve Daines (R-MT), Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND), Mike Enzi (R-WY), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Orrin Hatch (R-UT), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), John Hoeven (R-ND), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), John Kennedy (R-LA), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Ron Wyden (D-OR), David Perdue (R-GA), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Rob Portman (R-OH), Tom Udall (D-NM), Pat Roberts (R-KS), Jon Tester (D-MT), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Angus King (I-ME), Tim Scott (R-SC), Joe Donnelly (D-IN), John Thune (R-SD), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Bob Menendez (D-NJ), and Patty Murray (D-WA).

Click here to read the resolution.